PDA

View Full Version : Water Cooler Etiquette

Dawn R
01-03-2007, 10:26 AM
I'm fairly new to the water cooler and looking for advice. Is it considered appropriate to ask other members if they would read an advanced reading copy of your book? Or is that a no-no?

I can't help but notice that some members of this site have very respectable credentials. Credentials that would look jolly good on the front cover of my book! At the moment, I am being asked by my publisher for suggestions as to who they could send advance reading copies to. Is it appropriate to send a brief e-mail to another member telling them about the book and asking if they would consider reading it, or not. I quite understand that most writers are too busy and will refuse. But should I even ask? Or is that bad form for this type of board?

Just trying to avoid getting locked in the broom cupboard for a month for inappropriate behaviour!

alleycat
01-03-2007, 10:48 AM
There's no harm in asking, but, as you mentioned, sometimes people won't have the time even if they were willing. Just keep your request professional and you shouldn't have a problem asking them.

MacAllister
01-03-2007, 10:53 AM
What Alleycat said. :) Certainly you can ask. And regardless, hang out and get to know folks. There are some wonderful people on the boards. Even the writers are mostly an okay bunch.

Dawn R
01-03-2007, 11:34 AM
Thanks Alleycat and MacAllister for your advice. I shall approach the publisher next to see if American and UK 'names' are what they want and if it is, will approach our illustrious ones.