weird facts or a bunch of bunk?

preyer

excessively spartan
Registered
Reaction score
a couple of daze ago a guy told me about having to have his t.v. degloused (sp?), which is basically having it demagnetized. he said this was a result of his t.v. being over 32" (and he doubts this applies to plasma t.v.s), that the earth's gravitational pull screws with the picture after so long sometimes. after deglousing, it worked fine. he also said he had to have his car degloused.

fact or bunk?

my wife told me it's illegal to give pellicans (and probably any bird, really) alka-seltzers because it makes the bird's stomach explode as a result of birds inability to burp.

fact or bunk?

triceretops

Banned
Flounced
Reaction score
Website
guerrillawarfareforwriters.blogspot.com
Bunk. The only time a tv has to be demagged is when some kid runs a magnet over the screen and it get all these funny rainbow designs in it.

Hmmm...I was a mechanic for 20 years and have never heard of demagging a car. You can depolarize an old automobile regulator, though. You might as well buy your car one of those ionized bracelets so it'll feel better, eh?

Don't know about the bird thing.

Tri

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Modern TVs (and monitors) have deguassing coils that automatically deguass the screen every time it's turned on. As Tri pointed out, you won't need to worry about it unless you have rainbow colors on the screen.

I do remember when monitors came with a deguassing buttom that was used from time to time. I don't think new ones even have it (not that I've looked).

I don't know about the bird thing. It's generally illegal to be cruel to an animal, wild or domestic. I assume giving them Alka-Seltzer might qualify. Beats me though.

Leah J. Utas

Protecting Teddy with all my might.
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
What if the pelican asks for Alka-Seltzer? Then what do you do?

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered