Status
Not open for further replies.

DamaNegra

Mexican on the loose!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.fictionpress.com
Perhaps the folks at this board could help me define the genre of my novel?

I am currently writing the novel set in a possible future, so my first guess is sci-fi. But there's no significant or even decent amounts of technology in the story, so that's why I'm not sure about calling it sci-fi.

What to do?

jchines

Got the hang of it, here
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jimchines.com
A story doesn't need to be tech-heavy to be science fiction. Without more information on the story, my feeling would be to go ahead and call it SF.

Shadow_Ferret

Court Jester
Registered
Reaction score
Website
shadowferret.wordpress.com
I'm no expert, but to me, if it's in the future, that's sci-fi, even without technology.

Unless it has fantasy elements, like magic, mythical beasts, etc.

Then I'm not sure.

I think I'll just wait here with you until a real expert comes along.

ETA: I didn't see jchines post. Didn't mean to say he wasn't an expert. ;)

badducky

No Time For Chitchat, Kemosabe.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
jmmcdermott.blogspot.com
Put together a cover letter, and if your future setting shows up in your paragraph synopsis then the book is SF. If not, it's just fiction.

Even then, plenty of solid literature and fiction has SF and fantasy elements that enhance the story. (100 Years of Solitude, Oryx and Crake)

johnzakour

Dangerous with a Keyboard
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.johnzakour.com
DamaNegra said:
I am currently writing the novel set in a possible future, so my first guess is sci-fi. But there's no significant or even decent amounts of technology in the story, so that's why I'm not sure about calling it sci-fi.

At a quick glance it looks like SF.