Rewriting for Gaming Company

Status
Not open for further replies.

rachelm

Registered
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie, so let me first say howdy. This is a reposting from the comic/graphic novels subforum. Peedee thought you might have a better idea about rates for this.

Thanks in advance!

Rachel
p.s. The gaming company is looking for editors through a 3rd party firm that did the translations. So the rate they mentioned is probably a bit less than it would normally be.
--------------------------
Hi Guys,

A friend of mine asked me if I might be interested in working for a Korean gaming company that is looking for writers. Basically, they want someone to take text that has been translated from Korean, proofread it and polish it according to linguistic guidelines. It's a fantasy role-playing game so the characters are elves and other races. For example, the elves use a higher register and sound sort of 19th-century British.

Does anyone have ANY idea what kind of rate per word people get for this type of writing? I think what they are trying to pay is way under market, but I'm not sure. The rate is 4-5 cents a day. They say some of their better writers can edit 10000 words a day.

I've always worked by the hour and not by the word, so I want to make sure that the rate is at least in the ballpark.

Thanks,

Rachel

Christine N.

haz a shiny new book cover
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.christine-norris.com
Hmm. Sorry, I can't help. I do this same job for a manga company, for their Light Novel line, so I understand the work involved.

I get paid a flat rate per book, and it's pretty fair. For me to do a good job, there's no way I do 10,000 words per day, unless I'm not doing anything else and work an eight or nine hour day. I get through about 20 manuscript pages, double spaced, Times New Roman, 12 pt. font per day, and I go over each 20 page section twice, then do a total read through before I turn it in.