PDA

View Full Version : friendly form rejection

Odile
12-24-2006, 11:55 PM
I had a friendly rejection this week.
It said

We’ve had the chance to review your query, and at this time, we do not feel that it would be best represented by our agency. Please keep in mind that this is a very subjective business, and we wish you all the best in finding a home for your work and having it published. Please feel free to come to us with future queries.

I'm a beginner at this, any light on the subject is more than welcome.
Is this a very typical form rejection?
Did I choose the wrong agency? (it is non-fiction)
Do they think my work is not ready for submission yet?

Elektra
12-25-2006, 12:27 AM
Form. Though the future queries thing is nice. Many agents have different form letters, and this one may be their "Not right, but I like the style" form.

Odile
12-25-2006, 12:47 AM
Hmm... Not right. Would this be that the topic is not right? Or right topic not well developped... (thinking out loud, please share your thoughts)

Sassenach
12-25-2006, 02:26 AM
Don't torture yourself. There is nothing to figure out in a form rejection.

Toothpaste
12-25-2006, 03:30 AM
A form rejection is really just a no. It could be many kinds of no's, they like it but it's not their genre, they don't like it at all. The real way to get a sense of a general feel about your work is to see how many rejections you get, and what kind (some rejections are personalised and they even give you notes). If you get nothing but form rejections over and over again, then you can start reading into it. Right now, I'd just forget about this one and move on.

johnzakour
12-25-2006, 07:27 AM
Yep, it's a nice way of saying "no thanks." Or if you prefer you can think of it as, "no thanks, for now."

I agree with the others, forgot it about and move on.

(BTW, I always tried to read between the lines in these types of rejections also. I gave myself headaches from squinting so hard. So you certainly aren't alone.)

Odile