New Songs

rachelm

Registered
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie to this forum so let me take this opportunity to say howdy.

At the moment, I'm working on a demo and have two new songs up on my myspace page--Buena Vista Park and Solitude. BV Park is pretty much done--just a couple of minor tweaks left to do. Solitude is a rough mix and I'm going to do a little more to the pre-choruses on it. I'm going to finish that one on Tuesday if all goes well in the studio. If you get a chance to listen, I'd love to hear your thoughts.

My website is under construction still, but they are up on my myspace page: www.myspace.com/rachelmargaretmusic

Thanks so much for listening!

Best wishes!

Rachel

Last edited:

DreamWorks

keep dreaming
Poetry Book Collaborator
Registered
Reaction score
Well I was only able to play the first song and I found no fault - it was really lovely listening. Your sound reminded me of the likes of Azure Ray. Big compliment there! Good luck!

rachelm

Registered
Reaction score
Hey,

Thanks for the complement! I just listened to Azure Ray for the first time--nice! When I did the first arrangement of that song, someone said it sounded a bit like Mazzie Star. It's really changed a lot since then, so it probably doesn't now.

This year I've been working on my sound a lot. Some of my songs have more acoustic on them, like Azure's. A couple of them - Danger, and Things Fall Apart will be more in this vein when they get re-arranged. Danger sounds a bit like a David Gray song. But people say my voice sounds a bit like the Cowboy Junkies' singer on that one. I guess it's the key it's in or something--it's hitting a certain spot in my voice.

A couple of weeks ago, one of the local dj's re-mixed buena vista park - it was so cool! It's so interesting to hear how someone else would approach it.