PDA

View Full Version : Need information from people with disabilities

M.A.Gardener
12-22-2006, 02:12 AM
If you have a physical disability, I would appreciate hearing from you. One of my characters is in a wheelchair. Other characters have other physical disabilities. I'm especially interested in any "workarounds" you've come up with to adapt, or experiences you've had. Or other details. For example, have you ever used the word TAB to refer to the "Temporarily Able-Bodied"? Things like that.
Thanks!

M.A.Gardener
01-04-2007, 02:26 AM
Anyone?

Kate Thornton
01-04-2007, 09:18 PM
I had a stroke a few years ago. I work full time as an engineer under sub-contract to Boeing. My left side does not work very well and I walk with a leg brace.

I type one-handed and use a small standard keyboard. I have a special chair (ergonomic office chair) adjusted to support my left side a little higher than the right. I get to park really close because I have DP plates on my car, or a "Princess Pass" as we call the placards & plates. Everyone is considerate, but mostly people forget about the disability when you are working on a team. It just becomes part of you the way one person's dress habits or another person's social habits become part of their package. I actually forget I am disabled at work sometimes until I have to walk to the bathroom or something and have to drag my leg out and make it work. It's weird, because at home I am *constantly* reminded of what I can't do, but at work, I am only reminded of everything I *can* do.

Hope this helps.

KCH
01-04-2007, 10:42 PM