Went AP, got published in magazine - 3 more mags next month

September skies

cloud watching
Registered
Reaction score
under my September Skies in sunny California
Website
www.estheravila.com
Recently, I had submitted a story to DISCOVER magazine (comes out twice a year for the Visalia Chamber of Commerce to promote this area) and I see that the story was printed in the Fall/Winter issue. I love it. I really had forgotten all about it.

I have been away from the boards for a couple of weeks -- (close friend, age 85, died Dec. 1) -- but who would have thought that through all the tragedy, beautiful things happened..without knowing it, he added to my writing career.

Not only did one of my stories about him get submitted as an AP story, but I have been contacted by a couple of other editors from other publications - one asking I come in for an interview for a full time position - and knowing I am a freelancer, another asked me if I was available to write for two local monthly magazines he is editor of -- Style and TC Style.

I was also contacted by the secretary of OVERTURE magazine a few days ago -- Local 47 Musicians' Union magazine in Hollywood -- read by all of the big star musicians.
I was asked to submit a story to the editor on my dear friend. I turned it in yesterday and the story will run in the January issue. So bittersweet.

So....I've been away during these difficult days, but I have also been writing some of the most important stories of my lifetime....without even realizing it.....thanks to my sweet late friend.

Last edited:

stormie

storm central
Registered
Reaction score
Still three blocks from the Atlantic Ocean
Website
www.anneskal.wordpress.com
Truly bittersweet! I'm so sorry about your friend's death. I know how much he meant to you. But in writing about him, you opened up new avenues. I'm so glad you found the sweet along with the sad! You are really on your way now. (And congrats on the love in your life!)

piscesgirl80