A Professional question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Serendipity

I've been toying with the idea of writing a screenplay based on a novel. now how do I go about getting permission for writing this? Do I just write it and then ask the writer or publishing house for permission to submit it... or do I need permission before I can even start writing it? help help help!

:jump Indi

dchapma123

You will need to acquire the film rights for the novel, probably from the author (though possibly from the publisher). Contact the publisher before you begin writing to find out if the rights are even available--someone may have beat you to the punch. If no one has the rights, you may be able to option them, though if you don't already have screenwriting credentials, it may be a hard sell.

You MIGHT be able to boost your chances by convincing a producer to sign on to your project, so that you're not just adapting the novel on spec.

NikeeGoddess

i'm not a professional but.....

you can always call the publisher (some have websites with a rights inquiry section) and find out who owns the rights - they will tell you if someone already has purchased the film adaptation rights

if the writer is a "hot" author then someone probably has already purchased the rights to adapt. in this case.... forgetaboutit!!! you would have to be involved in that purchase and atleast be an established writer to get the opportunity to write the adaptation.

if a producer has already purchased the rights then they will find a name writer. They hire that person, if their script doesn't work they hire somebody else to either rewrite it or start from scratch.

if the rights are available then expect to have a lot of cash to purchase the rights especially if it's a "hot" book
and if it is feasible then you should invest and study in screenwriting books on adapation. novel execution and filmwriting executing are so very different.

write on!

cathypaulwriter

Well....