• Guest please check The Index before starting a thread.

Angel City Press

smallthunder

Ruled by Dachshunds
Registered
Reaction score
Does anybody know anything -- good or bad -- about Angel City Press?

http://www.angelcitypress.com

It says: "ACP pays author royalties of 10% of net revenues from book sales, with payment timing based on receipt of funds."

I know that gross is better than net, for sure -- isn't 10 percent on the low side, too?

J.S Greer

Feel the power!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.myspace.com
I think its low, but im not an expert on that subject.

I know that the net is profit minus printing costs and the usually 40-55% discount offered to distributors. I think.

Someone please answer this better than I just did :D

smallthunder

Ruled by Dachshunds
Registered
Reaction score
Isn't "net" usually whatever the contract says -- i.e. can include any & everything, including the publisher's weekly carwash, if you're not careful?

I'm also wondering about their submission guideline that states: "ACP authors agree to provide all photographs/illustrations and full right to their use."

I thought that a writer, unless blessed with artistic ability, shouldn't be in charge of providing illustrations. But the way that line is phrased ...?

UrsusMinor

Registered
Reaction score
smallthunder said:
I'm also wondering about their submission guideline that states: "ACP authors agree to provide all photographs/illustrations and full right to their use."

I thought that a writer, unless blessed with artistic ability, shouldn't be in charge of providing illustrations. But the way that line is phrased ...?

They probably aren't expecting the author to draw pictures unless that is the author's area of expertise. In many cases where a (usually non-fiction) book requires photos or other material, the responsibility for acquiring repro rights lands in the author's lap. Who pays, and what the cap is, is a topic of negotiation.