Not knowing where to go or what to do.

Status
Not open for further replies.

MSand114

Hi, this is my first time on this one but you seem like you guys know what you are talking about. I'm 16 and i've written a few scripts. Yes i've done my homework (trust me). I have talked to many producers that I know through contacts and things but they all brush me off and just offer tips. Being 16 though doesn't leave much room. At first I thought i was better off keeping them in the closet until I was 18 before I even thought about sending them and trying to get noticed. I am not even old enough to take classes on it. There are none in my high school and I'm not old enough to participate in the summer programs. What I was thinking though is most writer's are between the ages of say 18 - 40? Maybe i'm off by a little (or a lot) but would'nt talent agencies see it as raw talent. I mean even if my stuff was mediocre, they could see that in a few years, they could be something. Well I just wanted to get this out. Thanks for your time.

maestrowork

Improve your skills as a writer. It doesn't matter if you're 60 if your script is mediocre. It doesn't matter if you're 16 if it is brilliant. Hollywood wants good scripts that would make into good (or profitable) movies -- they're not looking for "people" (unless you're applying for staff writer jobs).

NikeeGoddess

it seems that tv wants younger writers
a few years ago there was a big deal about a woman who got a job writing for some tv show about college kids; she lied and said she was 23 but, she was really 33 or something like that - so ageism is a factor but, of course, this is the opposite of what you're talking about......whatever....
hey, you never have to tell anyone your age but, if you look 16 then i guess that won't matter - you're still a kid!!!

anyhoo - if you make your contacts via internet or snailmail queries then they'll never know