Experience in the Business?

• Thread starter First Blood Part II
  • Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.

First Blood Part II

Hey, I just found this place yesterday and I don't know everyone here. I was just wondering if this is like a screenwriting forum for fanboys or if some of you all are actually published, accomplished screenwriters?

Personally, I'm a film student in KY (if ya can believe that oxymoron). I go to Asbury College and I'm currently taking a Screenwriting class and am working on a script that's due at the end of the semester, which is the whole point of the class. I've just had the class for about three weeks now, but it's already changed how I see the world. The world's nothing more than just a bunch of movie ideas thrown together into one big anthology that you see all at once. I'm finding that I've got a knack for writing. Of course, I had a Creative Writing teacher in high school tell me I was really great at dialogue, so that's pretty good. But that was back before I was really intent on going into film. Back then, I thought that since I converted to Christianity, the Lord would want me to become a pastor of a church, not a filmmaker. Then along the way, I realized I could be a filmmaker and that's actually what God wanted for me all throughout my life. Filmmaking's always been on my mind, even before I knew I wanted to do that or before I was even called by God to be one or even be a Christian. I'd say the inner workings of it were there when I was at least 2. I grew up watching Star Wars nonstop and my parents bought me everything SW from toys to soundtracks to sketchbooks of the starship and alien designs. Then when I saw the Indiana Jones movies for the first time in 8th grade, that's when I started thinking about making movies. Sophomore year of high school is when I became a Christian and put my dreams of filmmaking to death, since it seemed too worldly. Then I guess my freshman year of college was when I started back on t