PDA

View Full Version : "Great but not marketable." What do I do?

Haydee
11-23-2006, 06:28 AM
I have recieved this reply from several (if not many) agents while trying to shop my novel. Actually this has happened with two novels, now that I think of it. I am a published short story writer and I'm a professional writer/marketer for a respected online company, which always gets my foot in the door. And I always get rather glowing responses to my manuscripts, stuff like "very strong," "thoughtful, intriguing," "you're very talented," etc.

Nevertheless, no matter how much an agent liked my novel, I always get that "...but too hard to market" line tacked on at the end.

I am completely aware that my material is "hard to market." I write mostly contemporary fiction-- a hard market to break into-- often with atypical protagonists. However, as a marketer myself, I know perfectly well that nothing is utterly un-sellable. I also truly believe that good books will "make it" in the end over all the crap that's pushed around out there. That's why we have classics.

So... any advice here? Is there anything I can do except to sit down and force myself to write a "marketable" book for my first sale? Are there any agents who look for material that's not necessarily mainstream? I have thought of forgoing the agent route entirely and shopping my novels with small presses, but I'd really rather have someone who is experienced in the field on my team.

Scarlett_156
11-23-2006, 06:35 AM
What do you do? I don't know you, so I can't give effective advice here. But if it was me, I know what I would do: Keep writing.

I hope this was helpful!

ORION
11-23-2006, 06:51 AM
After more than 50 I found an agent that loves my work.
How many is many?

Haydee
11-23-2006, 07:08 AM