Q's seeking answers for NaNoWriMo Novel

ProsperitySue

All is well @>----
Registered
Reaction score
Website
deliberatecreating.blogspot.com
I've started novels several times and got stuck so this is my first time to plow through and keep on going on.

I've just had the oddest experience writing my quota today for my NaNoWriMo novel. I'm writing a romance, told my inner critic to go on vacation, and have been going along in a fairly straightforward way from point A to point B so far.

Tonight I felt tired and bored and so the MC's talked it over and decided to have some hot sex. I was camping it up, having a lot of fun with it, but I felt disappointed in myself and that's my question to you. I felt that I had let the characters down. I wasn't taking them or the book seriously. Have you ever had anything like that happen?

I resolved it by having the characters talk it over, deciding it was fun, but that they would go back to the story line in the morning.

It was really strange though. I have a fairly traditional story with a mystery involving some old journals and a mysterious crate left by the female MC's grandfather. It could definitely be one of those small romance novels, but I'd like to have a dragon pop in or have the male MC have to take up a broadsword and fight off pirates on the way to his pick-up. Something!

I'm also at about 21,000 words so I'm getting the mid-book crazies. This is way beyond what I've written before.

I think I've been too stuffy. It was a lot more fun to let loose and I think it might be a way to tap some creativity that I haven't let loose. Hot sex in the little romance books is mandatory, but I was camping it up with a lot of purple prose which wouldn't be ok.

I really want to write novels and think it would be a lot of fun. I'm confused about what's going on right now. Is it the mid-book crazies? Have you ever had this happen? Aaagh!

What kind of realizations and experiences are you having in your journey?

Soccer Mom