Hey, can I get a free copy of your book?

Status
Not open for further replies.

underthecity

Finestkind
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.allensedge.com
Jenna's thread about people wanting us writers to write their stories reminded me of a pet peeve of mine.

For some reason it really irks me when someone finds out I'm an author and they say, "Can I get a free copy of your book?" This has happened before, and I usually say something like "They're at bookstores."

Do you other authors get this question? How do you handle it? I mean, what do they expect, that I carry spare copies of my books crammed up my behind, waiting for someone to ask for one? Someone's got to pay for the things, besides (even if it's at my author's discount, but still . . . .).

allen

JennaGlatzer

wishes you happiness
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jennaglatzer.com
Wow, psychic guy! I *just* finished a (very short) article for Writer's Digest on this topic.

I don't get that question a lot, but I do get it sometimes, and it's awkward. I mostly just explain that I don't get many free copies, and I've already given them to my family. I think people often assume that authors get free neverending supplies of their own books.

Bartholomew

Comic guy
Kind Benefactor
Poetry Book Collaborator
Registered
Reaction score
I wonder why someone would expect this of an author...

How odd.

jpserra

Recovering Gumshoe
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.johnserra.com
The worst was my family; always bugging me about prereading the galleys and pushing to add things to the content. But the most over the top is my wife, who is dauntless in wanting a copy of my books when they come out. Imagine that. Greedy little thing.

John Serra

Oh, yeah, BTW, yes I do. Frequently. JPS

underthecity

Finestkind
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.allensedge.com