Artist-less Writer >sniff<

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beyondian

musker vyusher
Registered
Reaction score
Hi all. I'm a fantasy/dark fantasy writer who is very fond of the comic genre. I arranged with a very talented artistic freind of mine to do a webcomic, but their life became very busy, and now I am left with an idea, a script to the first chapter, and no artist.
I really would like to see it transformed into a comic, but I'm not sure if it will ever happen now.
If I had the talent, I'd draw it myself. I can draw, but I'm not fantastic. Does anyone have any advice?
If all else fails, i suppose I could turn it into a novel...

ETA.... Of course, I'm not even sure that I'm writing it correctly. I haven't exactly written many graphic novel scripts before.

wordmonkey

ook
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.writingmonkey.com
If you want a basic idea of a comic book script format, swing over to the Dark Horse website. They have a sample you can download in their submissions guidelines. You will find that different people/creatives/publishers have their own variations but the Dark Horse example is a good place to start.

As for an artist, if you have the money to pay an artist, you'll have no problem finding one. If you are looking to find someone to invest their art in your script, you'll have a harder time.

Harder, but not impossible. I've done it and have two books coming up for pitching. In both cases I planned a mini-series or graphic novel where parts are split into 22 page "chapters." I ask the creatives to commit to the first 22 pages only, for free (actually deferred payment until it gets picked up). But they also need to commit to working on the rest of the project when it's picked up (Image insists that the creative team stay intact if they pick up the book and if the creative team changes, the deal is off).