Question about Ghostwriting Fees

Status
Not open for further replies.

jamesmore

Intro and question about ghostwriting fees

I'm a newbie writer who hasn't published, sees blank screens and freezes, and is disorganized; I realize these are negative traits for someone who would like self-publish.

I could use some help in gauging the cost of hiring a ghostwriter for a 200 page non-fiction book dealing with self-help of sorts. I'm trying to determine the going rate for a writer (either per page or per project).

Any help or insight would be appreciated.

C

triceretops

Banned
Flounced
Reaction score
Website
guerrillawarfareforwriters.blogspot.com
Hi, James. You might get a more realistic response if you post your question or at the Paying Markets forum. If you are looking for a ghost writer, you might find one here, or several, and they might bid on the work for you.

In less a Mod strolls by here and recomends another thread that might help you.
You can also discuss what kind of non-fic book you are asking for help with.
Good luck,

Triceratops

Cathy C

Ooo! Shiny new cover!
Kind Benefactor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cathyclamp.com
Hi, jamesmore!

Welcome!

Well, your questions on ghostwriting sort of depend on what you want them to do, but it isn't cheap! When people think of the term 'ghostwriting' they often have very different images of what that entails, so here are some questions to help you focus your goals.

1. Do you plan to have your name as author of the book, so that the ghostwriter gets no credit, or will it be an "as told to", like,

By: John Smith, as told to by James More?

Those are two different prices

2. Do you intend the ghostwriter to do ALL of the research, including fact checking, interviews, etc., or will you do all that, so all the writer is going to do is compile your information into well written sentences and then leave? That will require YOU to do all the editing, proofreading, etc.