Screenwriting Should Come With a Twelve-Step Program

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sgt Spanky

My name is Capt. Jack Zodiac...and I am a screenwriter.

The first step to recovery is admitting you have a problem.

Okay, maybe screenwriting isn't that bad but, damn, there should be a pill to help ya cope with the stress. I'm gonna do a little Spring cleaning of my emotional baggage here so indulge me a little.

I took up screenwriting on a lark about 12 years ago and found I had a pretty good knack for it. I've written a half dozen scripts and, of those, the two screenplays I aggresively marketed both got great reviews from industry pros: agents, readers, etc... and, long story short, I got an agent and eventually a signed contract for $100,000 payable upon commencement of principal photography for one of my scripts. I was dating another talented screenwriter at the time (she was sexy too) and I was a professional freelance reader for the American Film Institute. It was my job to read screenplays from writers who'd paid for the critiquing service and write up a comprehensive critique of their submitted scripts. It wasn't bad work and it provided extra money on the side.

Today, I'm unagented, unproduced and I haven't written a screenplay in 5 years.

Why?

Burnout! Major burnout with the standard crapola of dealing with the Hollywood machine. My agent wasn't working nearly as hard to sell my work as I was working to write it so we parted, the people who'd optioned my script decided they knew better how to write my movie than I did and their suggestions, at first, were reasonable but then grew progressively more stupid and inane until the deal imploded, my screenwriter girlfriend dumped me for her ex, and I got so tired of reading so many awful screenplays for the AFI that I resigned. At least that one was by choice.