Getting all conspira-cidal

Status
Not open for further replies.

on_the_verge

Banned
Reaction score
I've been sending out various versions of my novel query for two months now. I just recently re-wrote the entire letter -- in fact, I re-worked my entire novel -- due to all the rejections.

I've been fighting off impulses to cyber-snap at other, more successful/lucky authors. I've also been trying to put the ideas of the whole underground literary revolutionaries out of my mind -- you know the whole thing about the literary world being some kind of freemasonry, designed to keep outsiders believing in what it makes itself appear to be.

So, you see, these initial rejections have given me positive strength (re-working my novel), and negative, aggressive energy.

How do I keep from letting all this affect me? And how do you accept the fact that if half the successful novelists and memoirists out there had to do things without their literary world connections, they would be in the same, if not worse, situation as me?

The Lady

Critical Member
Registered
Reaction score
Website
theladywolf.livejournal.com
I never heard about the underground literary freemasons.
Nah, I doubt they're real. If you still believe in them, join a crit group, online or real life. Listen to apalling stuff. Read apalling stuff. Try and fix stuff up for people and sink your head in despair. feel sorry for agents and publishers. Vow to never torture them with such rubbisH. Work on your craft. Learn, learn, learn, edit edit edit, rewrite (ah you get it)

Keep reading books and stories you admire. They really do make you raise your game. If you despise the book after five pages stop reading it.

Don't worry about how anyone else is doing. It's only you that matters. Keep writing. Let that novel do the rounds and get busy on your next one, making sure you also keep a weather eye out for tips and likewise on the craft (If you're not already)
Good luck. Remember. It's not about them. It's about you.