hello

lazywritier40

:)

hello my name is sue I am a newbie and I would like someone to help me with my writiers block. I have been working on my book for about
2 1/2 years now. I know how I want it to go in my head but how do I put it down on paper so I can move on and finish it

Gillhoughly

Grumpy writer and editor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Getting blitzed at Gillhoughly's Reef, Haleakaloha
Hello, Sue, welcome to the forums.

Block has a very simple (and wholly annoying) cure: like it or not you write every day, no exceptions.

Even when you don't "feel" like it, you write.

To paraphrase Joe Bob Briggs, "What you write doesn't matter, it's the PRACTICE that matters."

The only way to Carnegie Hall (or to get print published) is practice, practice, practice.

(And getting a copy of Strunk & White's Elements of Style. All the pros have one.)

If all you write is one page a day at the end of a year you'll have most of a novel finished. During the course of that you'll figure things out.

Oh, yeah, hanging around writing forums & chat rooms doesn't count as writing.
icon10.gif

You might check this site out--it's for romance, but writing is writing. The basics apply for all genres. The info here is GOLD to newbies. Go there, have fun, learn. Learn to write.

Good luck!

Last edited:

Soccer Mom

Crypto-fascist
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
To echo Gillhoughly, the way to get past writers block is to simply write. Set a goal and stick to it. Give yourself permission to write crap. Start by getting the words down. That's an excellent link to follow.

Happy Writing!

JasonChirevas

Registered
Reaction score
lazywritier40 said:
I know how I want it to go in my head but how do I put it down on paper so I can move on and finish it

Hey Sue.

I don't know if this is your problem, but it's something I've had trouble with, so I'll throw it out there in the event it applies to you.