What makes a good logline?

Status
Not open for further replies.

AaronB

I'm guessing everyone here has written a logline or two. How does one avoid writing a bad one, and be certain one is writing a good one?

Being a technical writer by trade, I'm biased toward factual information...but a logline is marketing copy, so in writing one I'm a little out of my element. What say ye?

Ravenlocks01

Make sure to tell us who your protagonist is (often including an adjective that indicates his flaw and suggests what his arc will be) and include his overriding external goal and the stakes.

In addition, a good logline includes that certain je ne sais quoi that hooks a reader and makes them want to read your script.

AaronB

I'm afraid my current effort is a bit flat:

"A young Dane, left for dead during the first Viking raid of the island monastery on Iona in 795, survives, becomes steeped in Irish culture of the high middle ages, and then must choose his path when the raiders return in 802."

maestrowork

Fundamental: should present the protagonist(s), the problem, and the story.

But a good logline is a marketing tool: it must entice the buyers. That's why copy writers are better with that than writers. Copy writers are trained to write marketing blurbs.

With your logline, there are a few problems. Yes, you presented us with the protagonist and the problem. But the story is sketchy. What path? What is the story? Also, it has too many unnecessary details such as the precise dates.

A slight edit would yield:

"A young Dane survives the first Viking raid of a monastery on the island Iona, becomes steeped in Irish culture of the high middle ages, and must choose his destiny when the raiders return."

It's still somewhat flat, but you get the idea...

mwc scribe

Focus on the goal the protag is trying to achieve during the second act.
_

Writing Again

Using a principle I learned somewhere called "When in doubt up the stakes" I would consider this as a logline.