Humorous story

Status
Not open for further replies.

Allie

Registered
Reaction score
I put out a resume on monster for technical writing jobs, I'm trying to break into the field. A recruiter contacted me and asked me for my resume. I sent it to her and I waited. I didn't hear anything for a week, so I pinged her and asked her the status. (The whole book query thing drives me crazy, where you absoletely can't ask for the status, anyway, I digress)

She told me that she couldn't send my resume to the client because I have a three year gap on my resume... touche... she's right... I quit working three years ago to stay at home with my kids. She said I could say I was a freelance writer and mention all my writing creds.

I told her that I had written a novel, but I had never worked as a freelance writer. (My thought here is that if you've never made money as a writer, you probably don't qualify as a freelancer.)

She wrote me back and asked me to give the specifics about my novel, the publisher, and the reviews. I shook my head at the request and sent her my novel query that I sent the agents, and told her that it hadn't been published.

She went in and changed my resume for me, added my current employment as a freelance writer and said my novel was going to be published by a reputable publisher. She said my resume was now "quite impressive" and to please fill out a sheet that she could turn over to the client.

This whole thing struck as very silly. Promising... but silly. Now if I can blunder through the fact I've never used Sharepoint, and I need to work from home on Tuesdays and Thursdays. :)

Lucizzz

Registered
Reaction score
What, the recruiter didn't add the job skills you picked up from wrangling kids? :)

When I was pregnant I was handed a peice of paper that read this:
[FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]
[FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]POSITION VACANT: MAIN CAREGIVER[/FONT]