PDA

View Full Version : Gender issues in hard SF

HollyB
08-19-2004, 01:57 AM
I'm interested in writing character-driven hard SF (that is to say, SF with realistic science, but the story is about the human responses to the science, not the science itself). As I'm becoming more familiar with the genre, I've read that most hard SF is written by men, for men, and as a new writer, I find that a bit intimidating.

What are all your thoughts?

Here's Dr. Debra Doyle's (Auntie Deb?) take on women writing SF:
www.sff.net/paradise/girlcooties.htm (http://www.sff.net/paradise/girlcooties.htm)

veingloree
08-19-2004, 03:08 AM
I think women have always read SF and a few have always written it. I don't have figures but I know that many products seen as masculine are approximately 50/50 in purchase statistics (like playstation games and rpg products). If only they would do a wee bit more for the female market they would make more money (I recent gave up a life long habit of buying comics, mainly in dusgust at the content of all of the mainstream names). As a pursuer of 'male' hobbies I think it is a stereotype worth bucking! But to draw a dubious analogy -- women always read erotica, it was just that it took a long time for someone to write women's erotica that was targeted at that market (Black Lace, Ellora's cave etc). These breakthrough publishers are reaping the rewards.

I think women's SF at its best has the hard science and the soft human componant's beautifully balanced and actually appeals across the board (as good writing usually does). There is a grand tradition laid out by luminaries such as Ursula le Guin, Octovia Butler, Vonda McIntyre and Margeret Atwood. Not to neglect great female characters written by men such as Asimov's Dr Calvin. Then there are the somewhat softer areas like space opera which are probably read by women more than men these days.

That's my 2c anyway :ssh

Nameless65
08-19-2004, 03:29 AM