World Building

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChunkyC

I'm just getting into creating a human recently - settled planet for my current novel and the next two, and thought a discussion of world-building would be interesting and educational.

I tend to think of two kinds of worlds: human - occupied (Earth and planets settled by humans) and alien - occupied (home worlds of alien species and alien settled planets).

I have been slowly collecting bits as I write and putting them into two main documents: a history file and a glossary of flora and fauna, place names, etc. Recently I've added a third document for character names, with given names and surnames, so that I can track family lines across the three novels, which will cover a thousand years of this world's history.

How 'bout y'all? How do you go about building up your world or worlds?

Yeshanu

I typed "World Builder" into google and hit the jackpot:

hiddenway.tripod.com/world/

I'm gonna save that link! :jump

When I first started writing my fantasy novel, I was a D&D player, and I wrote a novel that reflected it. Draft #2 requires a lot of rewriting because the world wasn't really fleshed out to begin with.

So:

Step number one: Draw the map. This is harder than it seems, because if you want the world to conform to any known laws of climate and geography, you've got to be careful where you put mountains, deserts, etc. I think it's probably more important in science fiction than fantasy, because a fantasy author can always claim that a magical universe works differently...

Number two (for fantasy authors): Laws of magic -- How does it work, and how much does it permeate the world? I hate D&D type worlds where every second mage can cast a light spell on a rock, but where taverns are still lit by smoky lanterns.