Is it just me or does anyone else think short fiction...

Status
Not open for further replies.

bluejester12

in this genre tends to be abstract or confusing. At least half the short fiction I read I can't figure out what's going on or dont know what the point really is.

ChunkyC

Could you elaborate? Are you finding this trend in mags like Asimovs, etc., or anthologies, etc., or from other sources?

I read Asimov's and find their selections to be quite coherent and enjoyable. I also have a few collections of short stories from Asimov himself, Arthur C. Clarke, and others, and some anthologies edited by folks like Gardner Dozois. There are definitely some unusual stories in there, but generally I 'get' what they're trying to say. Mind you, I do gravitate toward mainstream science fiction and much of my own collection is of that ilk and at least ten years old.

bluejester12

I'll try.

Keep in mind Im not good at science and gravitate to fantasy.

I havent read a mag in awhile because Im overseas. From what I remeber from Asimov's and Magazine of SF&F, they have a mix--I understand at least half, thought most of the stories aren't to my taste. I remeber one feature by Lucius Shepard awhile ago (Radiant Green Star?) in Asimov's that was so confusing I couldn't make it past the first page! Here was a feature by a supposedly great author and I couldnt figure out the first run-om paragraph.

Lately Ive been checking out www.strangehorizons.com Go check out the fiction tehre for exzamples of what I'm talking about. I read 2.5 stories and I couldnt gather why things were happenign the way they are. Most of the people post say "I love this story!"

It makes me feel partly stupid. Ive never been good at "complicated" writing, images and symbolism. Im more into classics like Blade Runner, Ender's Game and Martian Chronicles.

Im only reading short fiction to see where to market my fiction, but many times I dont think I'll make it because my stuff is pretty straightforward.