The Writer I Am

Status
Not open for further replies.

Samuel Dark

Registered
Reaction score
Hello fellower writers, it is I again, Samuel Dark. I am writing in here again because I do not know where this belongs, but here it goes:

I am a writer who writers for people. An audience. Not for one self, but for others. This might sound odd to those who haven'[t heard this quote from Stephen King. The jist of what he said is there are two types of writers: Those who write for themselves, and those who write for an audience. I am one who writes for an audience. I think the majority of the people here are writers who write for themselves.

Now, that doesn't mean your selfish -- that doesn't really mean anything. Actually, I do believe that means most of you guys will be better then I will ever be -- because your not bound by chains of an audience, you write just because you love it. I am one who must always consider his audience, the people who I target. I write with purpose, though, which makes my job even harder. When I have a certain message, either about morals or God, I have to know how to weave it in without making it the story, but simply adding to the story.

I, Allen Straith (my real name), will forever be bound by the Laws of my Audience. What type of writer are you?

(feel free to move this topic if you think it deserves to be somewhere else).

Ol' Fashioned Girl

Hand? What hand?
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jenniferdahl.com
I'm the kind of writer who likes having an audience, but doesn't need an audience. I write what I like and if others like it, that wonderful. If not, wait a minute and I'll write something else they might like better.

It worked for George Lucas. ;>

louisgodwin

Back from the dead
Poetry Book Collaborator
Registered
Reaction score
I definitely write for myself. No one else. I only write the type of stuff I would want to read.

I think the AW Roundtable might be a good place for this thread.
Just an fyi.