What else do you do? (for work)

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShannonC_77

Registered
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm just wondering what you guys do here for work if you are not full-time writers?

I'm trying to work full-time right now in freelancing but I'm not sure if I'm cut out of for this as a full-time career - just not sure I can provide enough steady income to support myself.

Lately I've been thinking about doing some accounting courses to get a designation but that is starting to seem like not such a great idea. Now I'm thinking maybe teaching would be good for me, plus with summers off I would have quite a bit of time to continue writing (as regardless what I do I'm sure I'll still do some type of writing).

Anyway, it'd be great to hear about the backgrounds of people here.

johnnycannuk

No, I'm little people now
Registered
Reaction score
I'm a software architect and consultant for a large "Big 5" consulting company. I have an unnatural hatred for MS Excel

RhinoMom

Registered
Reaction score
I'm a communucations manager at a non-profit.
I write press releases, brochure copy, websites, ads, etc.

I've never considered the above "my" type of writing, but I've always done it for a living. I much prefer the creativity my off-hours writing provides.

Debbie

underthecity

Finestkind
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.allensedge.com
I'm a broadcast engineer by education, and currently wire huge, industrial machines for a machine manufacturer.

Pays the bills, but it's a job. That's what they're for.

I make time to write books and freelance write the occasional article.

allen

allen

K1P1

Procrastination is its own reward
Registered
Reaction score
I'm the assistant director of a research center at a major university (part time), publish my own line of knitting patterns, do freelance copy and technical editing of knitting books and patterns, and do freelance teaching of knitting workshops.

Is that enough?

PeeDee

Where's my tea, please...?