PDA

View Full Version : How many different types of writing do you do?

piscesgirl80
10-16-2006, 06:28 PM
How many different types of writing do you do? Either completely different fields such as scriptwriting and poetry, or different genres, such as romances and thrillers?(Yes, I know there can be significant overlap between genres, but you know what I mean.:) ) And what type that you don't write, do you particularly admire?

Not that I'm any good at any of them, :tongue but I've tried my hand at greeting-card writing, personal essays, poetry and non-fiction articles. I really admire those of you who are writing/have written full-length books. I don't think I have the skill at this point to develop an idea over hundreds of pages.

CaroGirl
10-16-2006, 06:40 PM
I'm a technical writer by profession, so I've been writing and editing technical documentation for about 8 years.

Even before the tech writing gig, I got a journalism diploma during which I did a 6-week placement at a daily newspaper. I wrote and published many journalistic articles, in several departments, during that time.

When I'm not writing for actual money, I write short stories and novels (working on my 2nd). The short stories are mostly literary, but I have a few that are crime/mystery (earlier this year I received 2nd place in a crime short fiction contest).

I've also written some personal narrative stories, which I have yet to publish. I write what I want to write, so, no there's nothing I wish I could write that I don't (apart from better, that just comes from practise and lots of hard work).

JustinThorne
10-16-2006, 06:42 PM
Well, I write for a living... but it tends to be communications in the form of adverts, brochures, Websites, and copy for editorials, press releases and the like. No wonder I like to get my teeth into some fiction!

My novels tend to be fantasy but I have written shorts in many different genres including fantasy, sci fi, mystery, horror and crime.