How many different types of writing do you do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

piscesgirl80

Friendly Neighborhood Fish
Registered
Reaction score
How many different types of writing do you do? Either completely different fields such as scriptwriting and poetry, or different genres, such as romances and thrillers?(Yes, I know there can be significant overlap between genres, but you know what I mean.:) ) And what type that you don't write, do you particularly admire?

Not that I'm any good at any of them, :tongue but I've tried my hand at greeting-card writing, personal essays, poetry and non-fiction articles. I really admire those of you who are writing/have written full-length books. I don't think I have the skill at this point to develop an idea over hundreds of pages.

CaroGirl

Living the dream
Registered
Reaction score
I'm a technical writer by profession, so I've been writing and editing technical documentation for about 8 years.

Even before the tech writing gig, I got a journalism diploma during which I did a 6-week placement at a daily newspaper. I wrote and published many journalistic articles, in several departments, during that time.

When I'm not writing for actual money, I write short stories and novels (working on my 2nd). The short stories are mostly literary, but I have a few that are crime/mystery (earlier this year I received 2nd place in a crime short fiction contest).

I've also written some personal narrative stories, which I have yet to publish. I write what I want to write, so, no there's nothing I wish I could write that I don't (apart from better, that just comes from practise and lots of hard work).

Last edited:

JustinThorne

www.justinthorne.com
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.myspace.com
Well, I write for a living... but it tends to be communications in the form of adverts, brochures, Websites, and copy for editorials, press releases and the like. No wonder I like to get my teeth into some fiction!