my second God

tinas

Hello Group,

This is my first visit here. It looks very interesting. I have been a writing teacher for 12 years now, and lately joined a writing group, but they always felt something was "missing", and encouraged me to write autobiography. Not sure if that was smart advice but I went ahead and started anyway!

I don't know how to attach any text to this message (it says I can't), so I'll just give you a short summary. Would appreciate any feedback on whether or not this might be a worthwhile project, and also on how to post sections of the text if anyone is interested.

Thanks, Tina

Summary:

When I converted to Islam and traveled to Pakistan to find the boy I loved and was supposed to marry, it was explained to me that a man has one God but a woman, figuratively speaking, has two--first Allah and then a man: her husband, father or brother. I knew this already. From my childhood I had been taught about the Second God. When Adam and Eve ate of the tree, it was only of Adam that God said, "Behold, the man is become as one of Us". So man, already made in God's image, received the serpent's promise. Eve did not become Godlike. And Adam was given rule over the woman, the rib, the afterthought, and her punishment was to desire the man. Where I was raised, this ws accepted as true. I was daily taught absolute obedience and reverence for my future husband. Even thinking the wrong way could be and was punished. Going over to Islam, the religion whose name mean Submission, was not a great leap for me.