Status
Not open for further replies.

BardSkye

Barbershoppin' Harmony Whore
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
"Son of a..."

Does anyone know if there's an animal the traditional Chinese of around 5BC would use to finish that phrase? I have "jackal" pencilled in, but I'm pretty sure jackals don't range that far.

Any help would be appreciated.

Histry Nerd

Moving Forward!
Registered
Reaction score
Texas. It's like a whole 'nother country.
Son Of a...

I would guess "Son of a dog" would be a believable pejorative. The Chinese would certainly have had dogs in 5 BC, and I can't imagine they held them in high enough regard that the above would not come off as an insult.

Other possibilities, just off the top of my head:
rat
snake
pig
worm

Or even adding the human element:
Son of a whore (assuming prostitutes were held in low regard in China at that time--I don't know, so you'll need to check)
Son of a [member of a rival state or tribe]
Son of a slave

I'm no expert, so check your sources. Just throwing things out there to grease the gears.

Hope this is helpful.
HN

smallthunder

Ruled by Dachshunds
Registered
Reaction score
Son of a Turtle! or Rabbit! You Rolling Egg!

Standard Chinese "son of!" curses -- throughout the centuries -- have referenced either turtles or rabbits.

Experts disagree as to the origins of the turtle curse -- some say that the turtle, sticking its head out of its shell, looks an awfully lot like a penis (head). Others say that the turtle, having hatched from an egg, does not know who its parents are -- hence, all turtles are bastards (and necessarily unfilial bastards at that!).

No one actually says "son of a turtle!" in so many words: the expression is "turtle's egg" ("wang ba dan!"). I'm not exactly sure when this became a common curse, but it is a classic. Now, if your opponent adds "rolling" to get "rolling turtle's egg!" ... and you've been dissed in a major way.