Writer, Illustrator, and...a 3rd party.

Status
Not open for further replies.

josephwise

Registered
Reaction score
I'm completely new to the world of comics and graphic novels. I recently agreed to write a short 8 page comic for some associates of mine, based on a fantasy world they built (and house online as an illustrated fiction site).

It's being illustrated now, and the plan is to try to sell it to something called "Heavy Metal," which I assume publishes short comics in a periodic volume.

My assumption is that comic sales, even for very short works, are handled by the writer and illustrator as an entity. But in this case, there's the 3rd party...being the company that created the fantasy world in which this is set. The owners of the company neither wrote nor illustrated the piece, but obviously they have some stake in it.

So, forgive my naivety, but how should this kind of thing be handled?

wordmonkey

ook
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.writingmonkey.com
It depends.

There is no hard and fast rule here. At least that I have found.

Whatever you do, get it all down in writing. Now there are some people who will tell you that you need to do this just to cover your tush and make sure you get paid your share, but mostly from the way this sounds, it will allow everythinig to be set out and all parties involved know what is going to happen and be expected of them.

I have written as co-creator for someone else. It was basically their idea, but I said that if I was coming in, I was gonna do more than write stories, I would expand the "universe" and bring in new characters so I wanted a co-creator credit and, when things sold, some money beyond just writer. They handled ALL the submission and print problems and all I did was write some extra pitch info.

I'm working with a couple of artists where I've been brought in to write (and have given me co-creator status) and they are in charge of getting it out there, and while I offer my help, it's their party.