Antithesis of Stupid Things

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lori Basiewicz

While the "Stupid Things We Tell Ourselves Thread" lets us give voice to the self-doubts which often plague us writers and lets us see we are not alone in our fears, let's take this thread to remember why we push through those fears to actually write and submit our work.

I might be able to fool enough people into letting me write for them so I can quite the day job.

It keeps the voices quiet.

If you tell people you're a writer, they think it's okay if you're a little odd.

I can take out my frustrations with the human race without worrying about getting arrested.
:head

robertquiller

Good idea.

I can ditch manual labor (leave that to the maid), and spend my days with ideas.

I don't have to deal with people I can see or hear.

maestrowork

Oh, I already quit my day job. Better go with it.

People eyes light up when I tell them I'm a writer.

Think about how nice it is to have dinner in New York with King, Grisham, Brown, Chabon, Irving, et el.

I got to kill a lot of people and get away with it. I got to kill the people I hate.

Paper is only $2.86 per rim at Staples today.

MacAl Stone

I'd be writing ANYWAY, because I can't seem to stop myself :) So I might as well sub it.

Hearing "no" hasn't killed me yet--I hear it all the time, in a variety of contexts--and things usually turn out okay anyway...

Betty W01

Maybe I'm nuts, but I think I have something to say that needs to be said, that only I can write.

That, and it beats waitressing...
3_2_110.gif

aka eraser

My writing's good enough - I'm smart enough - And doggone it - Editors like me!

with apologies to Stuart Smiley

I was going to start this thread Lori. You beat me to it. ;)