PA sent me two statements for the same book

Bo Sullivan

Banned
Reaction score
Website
www.freewebs.com
Hi,

I'm new to this Board and I would like to introduce myself: My pseudoname is "Duped", because that is how I feel.

I am a published author with Publish America (2004) and (2006) but having said that, I must say that I feel embarrassed to own up to it; and yet my books are worthy of note, being two historical books.

Basically, I have received two August 2006 statements for the same book, being the first of the two to be published in 2004, - one telling me that I have sold zero copies and the other telling me that I have sold 2 copies. My last cheque for the first quarter of this year was for £2.00. I am angry that PA misled me into believing, in 2004, that my work would reach bookstores. For the past two six month quarters I have not been able to cash my cheques from PA because the Bank in the UK charges a £10.00 fee to convert the cheques to US Dollars. I see many many of my books for sale on internet book sites with say, 17 in stock, 10 in stock, 8 in stock but where is the money they have generated?

I am full of embarrassment for chosing PA as a publisher, and forget the idea that friends and family buy PA books to give credit to the author, because in my case my family all came out with the cry "19.95 is a rip off" or words to that effect, so that I was left with egg on my face to such an extent that now I never mention my writing to my family.

In total, my first book has sold approximately 60 copies that I can think of, since February 2004, and it appears on EBay, but I have received nothing more than $23.00 in royalties from PA since February 2004. I really did believe, that with my 7 years of historical research and the inclusion of Elizabethan historical material from various Educational bodies in England, that my book would, at the very least, have a fairly good chance of success; expecially with a review from a Duke.