Building a Platform

BrianTubbs

Registered
Reaction score
As an aspiring nonfiction book writer and novelist, I find that the lack of a platform is the darkest cloud hanging over me. I've gotten some fairly good advice in other forums on this subject. I thought that the "goals and accomplishments" forum would be a good place to explain what I'm doing.

I would like to invite others to share what THEY are doing to build their platforms. Maybe we can benefit from sharing each other's experiences.

My passions are in American history and Christianity. I am a pastor, distance-learning seminary student, freelance writer, and former high school social studies teacher. Prior to all that, I worked as a lobbyist and public relations professional in the Washington DC nonprofit community.

I've had several articles published in newspapers and magazines - on a range of issues, including Hollywood political contributions, PETA, Founding Father George Mason, and Jesse Jackson. I need to focus. :)

I was also the Suite101.com Feature Writer / Contributing Editor for the American Revolution and Founding Era - a subject that I'm absolutely passionate about.

What I'm doing now....

1. I've set up two blogs:

http://briantubbs.blogspot.com
http://americanfounding.blogspot.com

They have decent content. I've been good in that department. But they have LITTLE in the way of traffic.

I don't have a clue what to do there - and don't understand RSS feeds and all the techno babble concerning blog promotion, etc.

2. I registered as a Content Producer with AssociatedContent.com and have already published several articles there.

http://www.associatedcontent.com/user/18184/brian_tubbs.html

So far...little traffic to my content, though.

3. I've submitted three articles to EZinearticles.com, which have been accepted. Presumably, this is a major article directory site - and my content will hopefully end up in newsletters, websites, etc. I'm not holding my breath, but every little bit helps.