PDA

View Full Version : POD Promotion and Best Case Scenarios

Heath
08-30-2006, 01:51 AM
This may sound a bit strange, but like all of you, I'd love my book to become a blockbuster hit. I'm new to the whole business side of this, although I've read several books. It appears to me that there are the following methods to getting published:

1 - Get an agent
2 - Get a publisher
3 - Go to a small press or
4 - Do vanity or POD publishing

As for 1, agents want you to have been published or have a publisher. As for 2, publishers want you to have an agent. As for 3, the likelihood of being taken seriously enough to produce a major hit are low. It seems like you have to be good AND get lucky for any of these to work.

So here is my strange question:

If you do a POD such as AuthorHouse, which I've been considering, how much money would it take (assuming your book was halfway decent) to make sure it is successful? Has anyone ever done this successfully?

I was thinking of throwing $10k to $15k into the package and promotions and working on getting it out there, maybe up to $40k or $50k, but I don't want to waste my time and money. Does anyone know of a success story, regardless of financial cost?

Unimportant
08-30-2006, 02:13 AM
I don't think there's any amount of money that can make sure a book will become a blockbuster. Throwing money at a book that has a very high potential of being a blockbuster will help, but if the potential isn't there no amount of money will make it happen. And if a book can't attract the interest of a single agent, publisher, or small press, the likelihood of the book having the potential to even be a midlister is pretty low.

Agents take on new authors all the time. So do publishers.

Try to sell your book through traditional methods. If that doesn't work, write another book.

my $0.02

Heath
08-30-2006, 02:30 AM