YA for guys

Status
Not open for further replies.

K-Mark

Philly Phanatic
Registered
Reaction score
I was in the book store and I poked around the YA section. I noticed that most of the books were geared towards girls. I was wondering if anyone knew much about YA books geared to guys. I know there are a lot of MG's for boys, but I was more interested in the YA market.

Is there a market? Is there any successful books/series in this genre? Or is it similar to the twenty-something genre where chick-lit is hot and lad-lit is dead?

BrianTubbs

Registered
Reaction score
My impression is that YA fantasy is written (normally) to appeal to both men and women. By your question, I assume you're looking for YA novels with male leads - written by male authors. I'm new to the genre, but my impression is that there are lots of those.

There are always the classics that started the fantasy genre - Lord of the Rings and Chronicles of Narnia. Both written by men.

I'm reading Christopher Paolini's Eragon right now.

Soccer Mom

Crypto-fascist
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
There are a lot of series aimed at girls. At the Borders near me, there is a shelf specifically for boys. 99% of it was sports related and the other 1% was fantasy. I notice this sort of thing because my kids are all boys.

There are very good books with male leads (Harry Potter). But a lot of the series and such do seem aimed for girls, but the stats are that women buy more books than men, so I am sure that is something in the agent/editors/booksellers minds.

K-Mark

Philly Phanatic
Registered
Reaction score
veinglory said:
I was curious what made you assume they were for girls?

I guess I should have prefaced my post by saying this was a small bookstore, unlike B&N or Borders. So, there was only one aisle of YA. I sort of considered it a microcosm of the market.