Completely Useless Information

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
I can blow spit bubbles.

Children find it funny.

Create a bubble on your tongue, slowly blow it towards the tip and then blow it off and watch it float away.

Mom'sWrite

Service with a smile
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.returnengagement.blogspot.com
OMG I majored in random, useless information. Before I became the parent deluxe (with lettuce and tomato, of course), I was a public librarian for years.

Useless information is what we do (but for some reason the patrons always thought whatever they needed to know was the single fact that stood between humanity and its total annihilation.)

Some of my favorites were:

The woman who came in seeking information on "go-wads". I thought she was taking her Dr. Seuss too seriously. It turns out that a "go-wad" to a properly raised Southern lady is a "gourd" to the rest of us. Who knew?

The schoolteacher that asked me how many lightyears the Earth is away from the Moon. It took me a bit to pick my jaw off the floor, after she informed me that she was a junior high science teacher. (The Moon sits on average 384,403 km away from us. A light year (Buzz notwithstanding) is 9.461 * 10 to the 12th power km long.)

There's a ton more anecdotes in my magic bag o' tricks, but the kidleys gotta go learn to beat on each other safely.

See ya
Carol

jbal

Registered
Reaction score
I learned to juggle and have since forgotten, learned to play piano reasonably well and have let it lapse, but the most useless of all:
German. I took German throughout high school, and while I probably didn't speak it particularly well, I could write excellently and was reading entire books in German. Little did I know I would never use it again, and now I don't speak a word of it. I mean nothing. However I took a three month Spanish course and because I am able to use it daily here in Houston, I can get along ok in Spanish.

Unique

Agent of Doom