Physical Therapy Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laurie

Registered
Reaction score
Website
elspeth.celtichearts.com
Does anyone know what kind of physical therapy a young woman would have four months after suffering a broken pelvis and hysterectomy in a car accident?

I read as the pelvic injury heals, strengthening exercises and a conditioning program are prescribed.

What kind of excercises would this be and what kind of conditioning?

The American Physical Therapy Association shows these excercises
http://www.apta.org/AM/Images/APTAIMAGES/ContentImages/ptandbody/hip/Hip.pdf

Are these what my character would be doing? Are there others as well? And how often would she do them?

Thanks so much :)

Paisley

Laurie:

I have some experience in this department. Previous to my own health battles, I worked as a medical transcriptionist through a service with accounts in a major hospital facility. At times, I did get some reports to transcribe in PT/OT (physical therapy/occupational therapy). In addition, my oldest daughter was in a car accident a few years ago where the driver of the vehicle that hit her did so at such a high speed that the impact broke the driver's seat off the car's frame. It caused her to have a fractured hip and fractured coccyx bone (tailbone). She went through months of physical therapy before she was able to walk again without the use of a walker or cane. Her therapy was extensive. At first, she walked with a walker. Later she moved to walking with a wide-base cane. Finally, she ended up with a walking cane before going on her own two legs but she continued to have a limp, which did go away with more therapy.