Starting on Horror, But...

Status
Not open for further replies.

gwendy85

~*Proudly Mestiza*~
Registered
Reaction score
Hello guys!

This is my first time here. It's kinda weird since this really isn't much of my genre (historical and romance) but I love reading horror stories (Stephen King anyone? What do you expect?!) and so, I decided to challenge myself. I once thought I could never make anything up in horror, so I surprised myself when I formulated a plot. I have the characters, and even the ending in mind. I'm starting the story off with the heroine's past memories (nightmare form) and begin the first chapter with her waking up and thinking about it.

Here's the thing. My heroine has recently woken up from a coma, only to find that she couldn't remember anything that happened to her in the last 5 years (she's 18 now), though she vividly remembers seeing someone murder her beloved father. (stabbed)

Now, should I explain the details of her father's death in the first chapter in that the heroine has already been told of it by the police? (father's body in river) Or should I just let her find things out one at a time? the story's quite long, I believe. And though it sounds more like crime/suspense/thriller/mystery, it's actually horror since it deals a lot with ghosts and parapsychology.

I'm also having trouble with nationalities. I like her to be Filipino like me, but it's also okay for her to be American or Japanese or even Spanish! The nationality actually isn't very relevant, so should I just ditch it and let the readers imagine the nationality for themselves?

Appreciate the input :)

mastershake

Registered
Reaction score
Hard to say really. Try out a few diffrent aproches and try and figure not only what works best at grabbing the reader, but also what helps move your storey along.

Somthing that came to mind while reading your post would be that your heroine is Asian, but the father who's death she clearly remembers is her adopted father.