Making the Book

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dreadnaught

Registered
Reaction score
Greetings all,
Although I'm a complete newbie to the writing arts, I have recently decided to develop, write, self-publish, and market a book. I will be posting my progress, learning experiences, budget details, etc here in hopes that it will be of interest to anyone else considering a similar project.

My goal in writing a book is mostly for fun, but I'm also viewing this as kind of an experiment. My budget for the project will probably end up being between $5k-$6k and I'm curious as to if the book will actually be able to make a profit (I think the odds say a resounding "No!" - but I like a challenge and intend to take this very seriously)

Starting Point
Story Concept - My initial idea is that the main characters will be a group of teenage explorer-types who come across a treasure map and following it eventually get mysteriously transported to an island. Their search for treasure quickly becomes a quest to find their way home, and they will be presented with many puzzles to solve during their journey. Characters on the island will include a village of shipwreck surviors, a lone stranger they befriend who seems to know more about the island than he's letting on, singing dragons, a pirate (of course) and some others I haven't sorted out. Basically one part Goonies, one part Narnia, and one part puzzles. And if there are any sequels then one part X-Files will probably be worked in to the continuing story. [Update: This idea has been scraped, the story will not be a fantasy. It will be a YA adventure about a group of teenage treasure hunters but the only elements of fantasy might be some paranormal activity]