Taxpayer Identification Number Help...

davidhburton

Purveyor of sacrilege
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.davidhburton.com
Hi there!

I'm not sure that this is the right place to ask this question, so feel free to move it if I've posted in the wrong place.

I'm a Canadian author and have been looking into getting a Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN).

Does anyone know what is involved in this process? Has anyone done this before?

From my understanding, getting my book published in the U.S. is going to require me to have a TIN, so what forms do I need to fill out?

Thanks in advance!
David

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
It a relatively simple process to get a TIN. Although I'm surprised someone in Canada publishing a book in the US has to have one.

The IRS has a website that fairly helpful. Sometimes.

veinglory

volitare nequeo
Self-Ban
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.veinglory.com
I am not quite sure how you would do it without entering the US but it may well be possible. If you can enter you just need ID.

But I have published in countries I am not resident in, including the US, without getting one.

veinglory

volitare nequeo
Self-Ban
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.veinglory.com
That covers what I thought. You need it to file a tax return in the US--not to earn money from the US. There are other mechanisms that allow the company to properly declare what they pay you.

JanDarby

Registered
Reaction score
The irs website (IRS.GOV) has a lot of useful information, including downloadable forms. The one you want seems to be a W-7, but you should check that with a local tax professional (accountant or tax lawyer).