self-publishing amateur

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcelle

Hi all,

Can anyone give me some advice on self-publishing companies? I'm a newbie in this world.
I am considering Dorrance, Authorhouse, Iuniverse, and Xlibris.
I'd like to know which ones to rule out. Let me know what your experience has been. It's quite daunting for me right now. Thanks for sharing.

marcelle

Cath

The mean one
Registered
Reaction score
Website
blog.cathsmith.net
Last edited:

DeborahM

I need espresso & chocolate!
Registered
Reaction score
Hi Marcelle and Welcome!

What Cath said, Cath's an expert, she won't steer you wrong!

You'll find this is a great place with awesome people and lots of great info!

:welcome:

Bufty

Where have the last ten years gone?
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Welcome, Marcelle.

Not sure what you have written, but are you self-publishing because you have decided not to try and have your work published by the convential route? Or because you have been unsuccessful in approaching an Agent or commercial publisher, and see self-publishing as your only alternative?

Marcelle said:
Hi all,
Can anyone give me some advice on self-publishing companies? I'm a newbie in this world.
I am considering Dorrance, Authorhouse, Iuniverse, and Xlibris.
I'd like to know which ones to rule out. Let me know what your experience has been. It's quite daunting for me right now. Thanks for sharing.

marcelle

MidnightMuse

Midnight Reading
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Greetings, Marcelle :) Cath gave you good links, and check around the boards here -- lots of people can give you ups and downs. And I'd like to echo Bufty and ask if you're going that route because you think it's your only option, or you just really want to ??

And again, Welcome to AW !

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Hi Marcelle,

Welcome to AW.

ac

KTC

Stand in the Place Where You Live
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website