Tarot Card Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Celia Cyanide

Joker Groupie
Registered
Reaction score
I can't find my thread about tarot cards, but I had another quick question. My story is about an incubus, so I was wondering if there was a tarot card that represented lust, particularly in a darker, negative context.

Also, what is the name for the suit cards, and the other cards? Is it major and minor arcana? which is which? Thanks.

Pomegranate

Registered
Reaction score
I'm no expert, I haven't worked with the cards for years, but here's what I remember:
Major arcana are the archetype cards (fool, magician, devil...)
Minor arcana are the suit cards (like playing cards)
The 4 suits are cups (love), swords (strife), coins (money), wands (power? I can't recall). They may have other names like staff or disk depending on the deck.

I'm sorry, but I can't recall if there is a particular card that would suit an incubus. I was taught that the "face" cards (king, queen, knight) represent people. Maybe a combination of the the Lovers upside down and a face card for a dark woman would work.

Hope that helps!

Angelinity

absent
Registered
Reaction score
well - not specifically. there are many Tarot decks, with as many interpretations. the most imaginative imo is prolly the alister crowly tarot. i'm sure you can google for 'tarot decks'.

generally, XV is 'the devil' (major arcana). this can represent a person's paralysing fears, temptation, schizofrenia, and a host of other *imagined* or manufactured ills. i supose this one would be the most likely contender.

Celia Cyanide

Joker Groupie
Registered
Reaction score
Thanks, you two! I have decided to include The Devil, since it's a demon.

Can anyone tell me exactly what the Lovers card inverted means? Thanks.

veinglory

volitare nequeo
Self-Ban
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.veinglory.com