PDA

View Full Version : Law Enforcement and Shotguns.

Novelust
08-10-2006, 08:18 AM
(Please forgive any hugely idiotic assumptions I might have made in the post below.)

This is present day, mind:

Imagine you're a Sheriff's Deputy. You speed to the scene of a crime in progress - major violence is happening outside. You've got a sidearm, but you're going to need more stopping power. You reach for your shotgun.

1) Where is it located in the car?
2) Is there any particular brand/kind it's likely to be?
3) The most important: how many shots are you going to be able to fire? I've read that different shotguns have different capacities - is 5 shots plausible?

I've done a bit of research, but I have a large knowledge gap when it comes to all things law enforcement. Could anyone recommend a good law enforcement reference for writers (I spotted a few at Amazon)?

alleycat
08-10-2006, 10:53 AM
I'm not a police expert, but here's a few things I do know.

1) Where is it located in the car? Probably mounted on a rack between the driver and passenger compartment for a patrol car (a grille is also mounted between the two areas). I've also seen them carried in the trunk.

2) Is there any particular brand/kind it's likely to be? A Remington pump is a popular brand/type (the civilian version is a popular hunting shotgun). There are others such as Mossberg.

3) The most important: how many shots are you going to be able to fire? I've read that different shotguns have different capacities - is 5 shots plausible? Police shotguns have extended magazine, up to seven or eight rounds for some of them. Five rounds is absolutely possible. Just for a general reference, many shotgun used for hunting are limited in their capacity by being "plugged" -- which is just a wood or plastic insert that limits the number of rounds that can be loaded. They could actually hold more rounds if they weren't plugged.

triceretops
08-10-2006, 11:18 AM