Newbie here, looking for some direction...

Status
Not open for further replies.

taj616

Hello Everyone --

I posted this in the Children's Literature section then noticed the "Newbie" area and thought it might be a better place for it...

"I stumbled upon this website as I was researching reputable Literary Agents. If I've learned one thing, it's that I'll be saying "NO" when/if the ST Literary Agency asks me for $129 dollars to further my efforts. A bit THANK YOU to those on the board posting the "BEWARES".

So now my big question is -- how does one go about finding a REPUTABLE literary agent for children's books?? I have written several short stories in rhyme -- and all have received a favorable response from family (like they'd say it sucked LOL), acquaintances and local children's librarians. Anyway -- I have checked out writing resource books which just seem to confuse me as to what I need to do next.

I'm hoping by post get me some feedback and give me some insight as to what I need to do to get SERIOUS with this writing in hopes someone else will read it and love it as much as I do.

Thanks so much for listening -- it's greatly appreciated."

Tammy (taj616)

p/s also -- would it be wise to post one of my stories here? (on the appropriate message board of course)

mammamaia

DON'T!

hi, tammy...
if you intend to market your work, do NOT post it in toto anywhere on the web... many publishers consider that as having been 'published' so you won't be able to offer them first rights to it... and why should they want to pay to print something that folks can read for free?

if you want feedback on the quality of the work, have someone knowledgeable give it a critical read privately, by email... some will tell you that posting in a certain way on a certain kind of site will not compromise your work's marketability, but that's a personal pov and i don't think it's worth the risk... imo, discretion is the better part of valor here...