AWAI to make money...

Status
Not open for further replies.

littlecupofjoe

Hello everybody!

I am a staff writer for a non-profit conservation organization in Canada. I have a background in wildlife biology and journalism. I have written copy for educational posters, PSAs, newsletters,media kits and press releases. I am currently writing an article on birds for our website.

Recently, part of an article I wrote has been plagiarized by this forestry department civil servant down east. He writes a weekly nature column for his local paper. I find that quite flattering :grin

The job is great, but I eventually want to go freelance. It's that going to work in your pjs thing that I find so attractive. :thumbs

I am slowly breaking into some major nature/environmental magazines in North America. My dream is to write books about wildlife and even a travel book or two (crappy pay but imagine the adventure!).

Ok so this question may have been asked before but what I would like to know is if someone has ever taken a copy writing e-course like those offered by AWAI. I am looking for ways to diversify my income, so I am wondering if it is worth it.

I know that there is a lot of hype surrounding these classes, but I guess my specific question is : would I be wasting my money by taking this class? :shrug

I am not kidding myself by thinking that once I complete this class I am guaranteed success. Of course, like any business, it takes a lot of hard work. But the ads for these courses make it sound super easy...

:rofl

You may be thinking: what is the relationship between wildlife, ad copy and direct mail? Actually, in my job I have to come up with slogans and all kinds of cool stuff to bring in the non-profit bucks.

Littlecupofjoe :coffee

P.S.: I love these emoticons...I could sit here and make faces all day! :b

mammamaia

greetings, java-lito!

...i'm not familiar with this outfit, but perhaps someone else here will be able to give you some feedback...