Support of Loved Ones

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melina

When I told my dad that I was trying to build a career in freelance writing, he literally laughed at me. I was mortified. Obviously, I'm just getting started, so I'm not going to be quitting my day job any time soon. I don't have any illusions about how tough it is to make a living as a writer, but to laugh? My mother, sister and boyfriend also had lukewarm responses when I told them. HELLO!!! I NEED ENCOURAGEMENT!! Jeez--even if they dothink it's ridiculous, they should at least not be so blatant. I'm not the kind of person that has a new scheme all the time, I've always been responsible and pretty successful at anything I've tried. I just can't believe the reactions I'm getting. Is it just me? Has this happened to any of you? Is there some stereotype of writers about which I'm unaware? Whassup??!!:huh

veingloree

I tend to be a bit defensive, say nothing til I can show them my name in print... :grin

Maryn

Close to the Vest

Oh, good idea! Perhaps the thing to do is not mention it again to those whose support was a reasonable expectation and so conspicuously absent. Pursue your freelancing zealously but quietly.

Maybe it'd be fair not to show family your name in print that first time. Celebrate your publishing successes with friends. Word will filter back to your relatives in due time, especially as your credits mount.

That's where it gets very sweet. When your dad says, "Why didn't you tell us?" (and you know he will!), you can take the high road and laugh heartily, then say nothing more about their failure to encourage your now-successful plans.

Maryn, offering encouragement snd support!

Tish Davidson

Re: Close to the Vest