I want a job as an editor...

Status
Not open for further replies.

nicegrrl

Banned
Reaction score
Is this a good cover letter?

I would like to apply for the assistant editor position at Generic Publications. I have a Bachelors degree in psychology and a strong interest in creative writing. I worked as the assistant editor of the "arts and living" section of my university newspaper and I also received an award for excellence in writing.
My previous roles on the media teams for the World Economic Forum and British Parliament gave me excellent experience in working in a fast paced publishing environment, working with many different people at once and handling many different tasks at once.
I love to read popular non fiction, romance, fantasy and most other mass market fiction genres. I am excellent at critiquing work and am familiar with common concerns such as handling point of view and developing compelling story structures.
I am very excited about the opportunity to work as an assistant editor and I hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

my name.

Any input is very appreciated.

thanks!!

Kristen King

Registered
Reaction score
Website
inkthinker.blogspot.com
First, congrats on making a decision to follow this exciting and fun career path! Regarding your letter, I want to know more about what skills are going to make you a good editor. I also want to know if you've enclosed your resume or if you want me to call you or what. It's short, which isn't bad, but not very exciting, which could be. Also, there are some errors, redundancies, stuff you should make sure is intentional (like not using a comma between independent clauses, serial comma, etc.), and unanswered questions that could reflect badly on someone applying for an editing position, in red text below. I hope it's helpful!