Spilling my Guts - An Intro by Will Marks

Status
Not open for further replies.

willmarks

Hi y’all, ;)

I’m a bit new to the internet forum world – too much reading, writing and travelling – but I feel a new addiction coming on…

I’ve just had my first novel published – its fiction set in and published in India. I launched it in Mumbai a few weeks ago, and so far so good. I’ve yet to approach publishers in other countries, but hope to learn a few things about that, promo and the ‘outside world’ of writing now that I’ve come up for air after the sensory deprivation of actual writing.

Here’s a bit of bio so you now where I’m coming from - I grew up in Wellington, New Zealand, graduated with a commerce degree and hit the road. I’ve since lived and worked in Hong Kong, London and Sydney doing six months contracts in IT, finance and marketing, in between travels ranging from three months to one year. I’m now thirty-one years old, and have been travelling (as in being on the road, not working) for about four of the last ten years.

I’ve always been a passionate reader and writer, and part of the reason for me to travel is to give myself the time and head-space to do these two things. I’ve been fortunate enough to be able to travel in Asia from Myanmar to Taiwan, in Western Europe from Santorini to Venice, Barcelona to Amsterdam, and in East Africa circling Lake Victoria though Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania and Rwanda. I got a PADI scuba diving license in Egypt, learnt to fly paragliders in Australia and have since flown over one hundred hours in Australia, Himachel Pradesh in the Himalaya and near Mumbai.